In Search Of Comfortable Shoes

Filed by Linda Wang

I thought I had brought my most comfortable pair of dress shoes to Boston, but they’ve in fact turned into my worst enemy. My size 7 ½ black flats have now stretched to a size 12 to accommodate my poor swollen feet.

lindas-flats.jpg

One of the things you learn real fast at these national meetings is that, no matter what they tell you, comfort should be your number one priority. After all, it’s pretty distracting listening to a talk when all you can think about are your feet.

To find out which shoes offer the best combination of style and comfort, I decided to consult my fellow meeting-goers.

checkered-shoes.jpg

Brian Steinberg, a fourth-year chemistry grad student at Boston College, thinks everyone should own a pair of checkered Keds.

rockports.jpg

Arthur Watterson, professor emeritus of chemistry at the University of Massachusetts, swears by his Rockports.

cowboy-boots.jpg

Kevin Gagnon, an undergrad at Worcester Polytechnic Institute, prefers cowboy boots.

sandals-with-socks.jpg

Johnny Chen, a postdoc at Texas A&M, likes wearing his sandals with socks.

white-flats.jpg

And Stephanie Ng, a fifth-year chemistry grad student at Boston College, is much happier in her flats than I am in mine.

heels.jpg

Elsewhere, I spotted Naiyiri Panossian, a grad student from NYU, and A. Sullivan, a grad student at the University of Massachusetts, walking side-by-side in stylish high heels.

Ouch—that’s all I can say.

4 Responses to “In Search Of Comfortable Shoes”


  1. 1 sam August 21, 2007 at 3:48 pm

    I’m wearing crocs with socks. Pretty comfortable. And super stylish. jk. Better would be just some running sneakers: both cushion and support.

  2. 2 carmen August 22, 2007 at 5:48 pm

    Linda, I’m in the same boat. Cross my wedges off the list of comfortable dress shoes.

  3. 3 Michelle August 24, 2007 at 9:08 pm

    I swear by my Kenneth Cole Reaction pumps! I walked miles (literally – I tracked them on my iPod nano) in these this meeting.

  4. 4 Kirsten September 20, 2007 at 9:10 am

    I’ve been known to do the Crocs with socks (Mary Jane style) but am trying to up my style quotient. I just started my own blog for comfy and cute shoes. I have rheumatoid arthritis so I know how important it is to find that pair of shoes that comforts your feet. i LOVE Danskos.
    http://www.barkingdogshoes.com


Leave a Reply

